Just another day, during which I must force myself to think about other stuff, when I really only want to think about this.

March 25, 2008 at 1:03 pm (Uncategorized)

1. I spoke to the office yesterday. I am to stay on the same tiny dose (1/2 vial) of Menopur for now, RE’s orders.

2. I can exercise since all my follicles are “still little.”

3. They don’t take my estradiol at these ultrasounds. At the first one, the nurse said “we can tell your estrogen is increasing because your lining is increasing.” Other than that, there has been no mention of estrogen or estradiol. Is that strange?

4. They haven’t done an HSG on me. I just looked up what that is, so now I have not only read about other people having it done, but I actually know what HSG stands for (hysterosalpingography) and what it involves. Anyway, is this problematic? I get the sense this is the sort of thing they’ll try if a few cycles of injectables and timed intercourse don’t work, but at this moment they don’t seem to feel there is any reason it won’t, other than bad luck or something.

5. I’m nervous about my own optimism. I’ve mentioned this before. This morning I had the realization that even if everything goes the way it’s supposed to as far as we can tell, chances are I still won’t get pregnant this time around. I think that’s right, right? Like, aren’t the odds against even a completely fertile couple on any individual try? I wish I knew more about this. Can someone direct me towards something that will give me the goods I’m looking for? Namely, what are my chances? And how come no amount of Googling has led me to the answer as of yet?

I forgot to mention–next ultrasound is Thursday. In the mean time I have to try and focus on my work, which is really hard.

P.S. I still have no symptoms but I don’t feel too bad about it since the nurse said I would probably not feel it when I’m just trying to grow one or two follicles.

6 Comments

  1. sara said,

    It seems like some REs do a HSG right off the get go and others don’t…not sure why some are gung ho and others not so much. I never had my estrodial level told to me except on day 6 of my IVF cycle, and a few times before our retrieval. I never had it mentioned on any IUIs or other timed cycles. But the longer I do this fertility thing the more I realize that all docs seem to do things differently which can be so frustrating to us all. Good luck Thursday!

  2. Waiting said,

    Hey there. I haven’t had an HSG either. I do read about a lot of women having them done, though. You might just inquire on Thursday while you’re there. See what your doc or nurse thinks. It might actually be a good thing if they don’t feel that you need one because I hear they aren’t the most pleasant procedures (although I know that doesn’t really matter if it will help the process).

    As far as stats comparing fertile to infertile peeps goes…I know that the avg couple has about a 20% chance each month. One would think that people who are a little more reproductively challenged would have an even slimmer shot. BUT, we have to keep in mind that doctors are pumping us full of meds/hormones in order to get our bodies primed and ready each month, so that could weigh in our favor. Maybe? Normally I try not to look at stats 1. because they can be disheartening, 2. because those stats don’t include ME and MY body, so therefore should really not mean a lot to me and 3. because Google is really not my friend during this, and never gives me the happy/positive news I want! Try (even though I know it’s impossible) to remember that we’re all different, and you can’t lump yourself in with any other “statistical” group. You might respond brilliantly this cycle! I’ll be checking back with you.

    Lots of luck on Thursday.

  3. ggop said,

    I pushed my former ob/gyn to order the HSG test for me. The tubes were slightly distended and I went for a laparoscopy to confirm no abnormality (discovered scar tissue and mild endometriosis)

    The test is not very painful. I did have moderate cramping for a day or two despite taking 2 tylenols.

    Agree with the 20% stat. I’ve seen it being bandied around. The math works out that at this rate it takes a year for 85-90% of couples to conceive.

  4. Patti said,

    I read in a magazine about infertility that even young, healthy women only have a 20% chance of conceiving in any given month. When someone does IVF it only increases it to 26%. Which is why, if it doesn’t work out, sometimes the doctors can’t explain why it doesn’t…. it just doesn’t.

    Disheartening, I know. However, having said that, I became pregnant on my very first IUI (yes, I had a miscarriage afterwards, but the doc said that the good thing was that I was able to get pregnant in the first place).

    As far as I’m concerned, the reason you can’t find the answers on Google is simply because no one knows your chances. Period. You are you. Just as Waiiting said above. If you could google and find out exactly what your chances are, I’m sure your Doctor would be on there, too!

    The wait is interminable, but time does march on (you can smack me at will for that horrible cliche comment). I hope you have the best of results very, very soon!!

  5. Mel said,

    You have so much on your mind, you deserve a glass of wine with a hot bubble bath. 😉

    My obgyn wouldn’t treat or refer me for infertility until I had the HSG done and my husband had a sperm analysis. She just reasoned that no amount of drugs could produce a pregnancy if my tubes were blocked or I had major polyp or fibroid issues. Even though she (nor my 1st RE) caught my uterine hypoplasia on that X-Ray, my current RE saw it the very first time he looked at my film and I am ultimately thankful I had it done for that reason. I know every Dr is different, and believe me these tests aren’t cheap (especially when insurance snubs you) but I guess I just prefer knowing all the facts up front. The HSG did hurt, but it was SO BRIEF it wasn’t that big of a deal.

    I am still surprised they don’t check your E2 levels, that tells them far more than what uterine lining on a u/s monitor does, but I guess you have to just trust your DR! All drs are different and certain things obviously work for them otherwise they wouldn’t be in business!!

    As for odds, I did ask my RE a lot about this after my surgery and basically he said that given all perfect circumstances (just like a completely regular fertile couple) you had 25% chances of getting pregnant every month. So if your uterus, tubes and husband’s sperm are ok and your dr is perfecting the ovulation with stims and a trigger, than you have a 25% chance! It’s almost sick to think about the million factors that play a role when it comes to pregnancy though, all these moving parts that have to work just perfectly for it to happen. Makes me laugh at “accidental” pregnancies even more than I did before.

    I am wishing the best for you. Ultimately, stay positive, because that will help more than you know!! I read a great book called “Conquering Infertility” by Alice Domar that talks a lot about the mind-body connection and how meditation and achieving self-peace helps tremendously with fertility odds.

    (dude, was this a long ass comment or what? LOL)

  6. Mel said,

    I mostly just google search out my info, to be honest with you. I didn’t find a LOT about slow stimming but what I did find was encouraging that it was a great way to do it and the best, most experience RE’s will act that way.
    My nurse also told me at that my RE had treated a handful of his other PCO patients exactly in the same manner as he is treating me (super slow stimming) and that every single one of them got pregnant on the first cycle. I can’t take that information TOO heavily to heart otherwise I would be severely let down, but that is good to hear.
    I am not really sure why I am doing my injections IM as opposed to Sub-cu. What I’ve read online is that you can really do it either way. The IM is a bit more painful at the time of injection but you have less site reaction from what I understand. I guess it’s just again based upon dr’s preference! It took me a while to get used to the IM shots (the needles are gigantic) but I don’t think I’d want to do it any other way now!

Leave a Reply

