The scoop.

March 31, 2008 at 10:56 am (Uncategorized)

Alrighty. The nurse saw my lining and immediately said, “Okay, now something’s going on.” It measured 7.1 mm today, up from 4.6 mm last Thursday. “Nice and fluffy,” she said. (She better not take that back like she did last time.)

As for the follicles, a couple (unclear exactly how many) are finally over the 10 mm mark. At least one measured 11 mm, and one measured 12 mm. This is all code for: something’s happening!! Yay! The nurse told me at one point that once they hit 12 mm, they grow 2 mm per day, so I’m going back in on Wednesday. We’ll continue with the hoping, as per the norm.

“But what will you worry about now, talkingaboutmyself?” you may be wondering. Would I let you down? Never fear, I’ve got that covered. Now I can spend my time worrying that too many follicles will grow up all big, and we’ll have to cancel the cycle. And, in case that worry drops off for some inexplicable reason, I’ve got a backup, a new one this time–I’m now worried that the diagnosis of having PCOS and being “insulin resistant,” given by my hippy dippy homeopathic gyno of days of yore, when she told me to cut out “all white food” from my diet (and I lost like 12 lbs in 3 weeks, bringing me to a bmi of under 19), was actually correct and I should stop eating sugar and carbs.

Actually, this brings me to a question I have for you PCOS people–it’s still not entirely clear whether I have PCOS or not. I don’t have high testosterone, any kind of obesity, acne, or hirsutism, so my current RE didn’t seem to think I have it. But just in case I *do* have it, should I be laying off the sugar and carbs? Last night I went to a get-together and had some pizza and brownies (I’m still in it’s-okay-and-probably-even-good-to-gain-weight mode), and I felt kind of shaky later, but not in a weak, low blood sugar kind of way, but rather just a shaky, I ate too much kind of way. I’ve tried googling this but shakiness usually seems to come from having too-low blood sugar, which I doubt was my problem after a night of pizza and brownies. Does this sound like I might be insulin resistant? Keep in mind that I don’t really know what the hell I’m talking about, like, at all. Any help?

So I am to continue on the Menopur at 1 vial a day for now. I had an interaction at the doctor’s office that made me feel good–the nurse was going to look for some Menopur samples to give me, but she forgot and went into a room with a patient. When the nurse came out, I reminded her, in front of the patient, that she was going to see if she had any Menopur. After she left to look for it, the patient said, “If she doesn’t have any, I’ve got a ton at home.” And I said, “Oh man, that would be great, I’ll take anything you don’t need.” (For the record, I was kidding and did not actually expect her to go home and bring me some of her left over Menopur, which she understood.) That was it for that conversation, but before she left, she just said to me, “Good luck,” and I said, “You too!” And it was the first time I’d ever had a face-to-face interaction with someone who is going through what I’m going through, and it felt so good that I wanted to grab her and become her best friend and get her phone number and call her all the time and make dinner dates with her. Because the thing is, no matter how sweet and completely understanding my friends are to me when I talk to them about this, I can’t help but feel like a bit of a freak. Even if they don’t respond with, “Oh, really?” when I say I haven’t gotten a period on my own in 9 years, or when I tell them I’m giving myself shots every morning, or when I explain that I went to get another ultrasound this morning, I still know they kind of have to be thinking that. And also, “Wow, am I glad I don’t have to worry about this.” So it is really nice to just look someone in the face who knows just what it’s like.

So, ultrasound #5 bright and early on Wednesday morning, cycle day 21, Menopur day 19.

4 Comments

  1. Mel said,

    Sweet progress! I am so glad to read that your appointment went well today. too. We are SO beyond cycle sisters at the moment. Almost ovary twins really. 🙂
    I am so hoping that OUR u/s’s go fabulously on Weds. Try to not to be overly concerned about over-stimming. I had 3 or 4 at 10mm-ish on Friday, too, and just the one massive one today!! The others were chilling out. Girl, it looked so big and beautiful on the monitor I just wanted to kiss the screen. 😉

    As for the food thing, I get jittery after carbs and sugar but I think it’s just a sugar high. I am terrible, but I haven’t changed my diet much at all since my official PCOS diagnosis.

    I also know what you mean about your friends. It is so nice to have other people in the same shoes to relate to. We are so blessed to have fabulous friends, but they really just cannot relate. We all have our own issues, though.

  2. Patti said,

    Yay! Progress! All good news! Looking forward to hearing more good news on Wednesday. Sorry I can’t help you with the PCOS thing. 😦

  3. Waiting said,

    Hi! So glad you got good news today!

    I have PCOS, and from what I understand- it *may* help to cut carbs/sugars where you can, especially if you are overweight. However, I fail miserably at this every day. Like you, I’m not overweight and don’t have any of the side effects. My bloodwork was also “normal.” I do have slightly elevated testosterone (70) and an u/s showing the pearl necklace. Those things coupled with the no-show of AF for 3 months straight, gave me a PCOS diagnosis back in January. I have been on Metformin since then, though, and most of those smaller cysts have vanished. I’m starting Clomid (+ Ovudril shot around CD12) this week. So, I wouldn’t worry too much about cutting all carbs. When given the option, you might choose veggies over a potato or something, but…I know it’s so hard (for me anyway)!!!

    You are so not alone in this. It is nice to meet other people who know what you’re going through, too. My blog has really been a great support.

  4. Lady Bits said,

    There’s so much I could respond to here – but first of all congratulations on making some good progress. It seems like your body is responding really well. Your medical team seem to be on top of the situation, so I guess you just have to trust to them about the medications they’re giving you.

    I feel faint and sick if I eat too much sugary stuff. I think that’s completely normal. Once I had a big hot chocolate in a department store cafe. While going down the stairs I thought I was going to collapse, so I went all the way to the basement to lay on one of the beds until I recovered!

    Like you, doctors don’t agree whether I have PCOS or not. I do have periods, but have long , generally irregular cycles. I do ovulate, but my hormone profile fits the PCOS profile, and one ovary has the ‘ring of pearls’ pattern. I used to have horrific acne. 10 years+ of antibiotics did zilch (the spots got worse) but eventually three courses of Accutane got rid of them. But apart from that – I’ve no PCOS symptoms. I’ve been told it’s a borderline case – if I was heavier the ‘syndrome’ part of PCOS would maybe be more pronounced – at present I just have the PCO part.

    I do react very strongly to oestrogen, however, so have been thinking whether I should go for the PCOS low GI diet. It’s basically just a healthy diet, so I think I’ll do it anyway. Let me know if you have any good tips about it?

Leave a Reply

