At least I got a free ultrasound out of it.

April 2, 2008 at 1:09 pm (Uncategorized)

But not a whole lot more. Nurse didn’t seem discouraged. The lining has thickened to 7.7 mm, which she said was great and again insisted confirms I am responding. The follicles seem about the same as last time, nothing huge just yet. She’s keeping me on the same dose and having me come back on Friday. And since today ended up being sort of “useless,” to my pleasant surprise she didn’t charge me for the visit at all, and she gave me another vial of Menopur to get me through Friday.

I’m a little surprised about the results because for the last few days my ovaries have definitely felt tender (or, rather, I felt some general achiness in the general abdominal area that generally did not seem due to gastrointestinal issues or having worked my stomach muscles (obvs)). Does this seem normal for still not having any follicles over about 12 mm?

Also, does anyone think I should be worried that I might shed my lining before the follicles get big enough?

Got some help on the exercise question–she said they don’t want me to exercise too vigorously because it takes oxygen away from the ovaries. Fair enough. Let the loafing begin. She also said I did not need to gain any weight and that my one cup of coffee per day is fine.

I’m not discouraged, really, it’s just not as fun (or, um, cheap?) as if something more were happening by now. And I am encouraged by Mel’s track record thus far, as she is basically doing exactly what I’m doing, for the first time like me, and is doing brilliantly, but has been doing it for a bit longer than I have. Also, I am very glad there aren’t a ton of huge follicles, for sure. That would obviously be the worst case scenario for me right now. So, things aren’t desperate yet.

Also, it looks like I don’t have to worry about hanging out with the Friends I Don’t Want to Know About This on Friday night and not having a glass of wine, which would totally tip them off because I ALWAYS have wine.

P.S. Today is technically cycle day 21, and day 19 of Menopur injections, in case anyone is actually keeping track.

3 Comments

  1. sully said,

    I felt tenderness – to the touch, actually – and I don’t think my follies were all that big. Good luck! Hopefully you’ll get the go-ahead soon.

  2. Mel said,

    Rats, girl!! I am sorry it was just more of the same for you. I can say with 100% certainty that I know EXACTLY how you are feeling right now. They still aren’t drawing your E2 levels, right? I wouldn’t worry much about your lining shedding too early, that usually will NOT happen without progesterone supplementation (at least that has been my experience!).
    My ovaries have been tender to the touch for weeks, even before I had a dominant. I literally couldn’t sleep on my left side 2 nights in a row because it was so uncomfortable.
    You are continually in my thoughts-always email me if you need any extra support or want to vent!!
    *hugs*

  3. Joy said,

    Now I am not doing fertility treatments or anything. I can only tell you that when I ovulated I could feel a squeezing sensation on one ovary and pre-menstural type cramping.

Leave a Reply

