Now comes the hard part.

April 7, 2008 at 11:31 am (Uncategorized)

Mind going crazy.  So many questions and concerns.

Took the trigger Sunday morning at 8 am.

1. Is it possible I won’t ovulate? Like, for instance, my last ultrasound was early Friday morning after my second-to-last Menopur injection. I was measuring about 16 mm then. I took one more Menopur shot on Saturday morning and triggered a day later. Were the full days of Friday and Saturday enough time to get the follicle to mature to the right size?

2. Is it possible I won’t ovulate even if the follicle did get to the right size?

3. Will I necessarily feel myself ovulate? Do most people going through this process feel it? If I don’t feel it, does that suggest I didn’t ovulate?

4. I felt something on the right side (where the big follicle is/was) yesterday afternoon, but that was too early to ovulate, right? It should happen some time tonight, shouldn’t it, 36 or more hours later? Anyway, the thing I felt was similar to the ovary twinges I’ve been feeling for the last week or so. But since I don’t know what ovulation feels like I don’t know what I’m looking for.

5. If I did ovulate yesterday afternoon, and didn’t have sex until perhaps 8 hours later, is that timing okay? (Okay, I’m pretty sure it is but I’m just getting it all out there.)

6. My ovaries feel less painful today. Does that suggest I already ovulated, or that I didn’t ovulate at all and the follicles are shrinking or something?

7. Do I strike you as someone who is mentally prepared to deal with a 2ww? Yeah. Me either.

1 Comment

  1. Mel said,

    HAHAHA
    You made me LOL with #7

    1) I believe I have read somewhere that there is always a VERY small possibility that you won’t ovulate after the trigger, but that is quite literally the exception rather than the rule, especially if you have a confirmed dominant. They wouldn’t tell you to take the trigger if your follie wasn’t big enough, so I wouldn’t worry about it not getting a chance to mature.

    2) Is your RE’s office not giving you a collapse u/s to make sure you did ovulate? I imagine if you are really worried about it, you can ask them to let you come in for another scan to check and make sure it happened. No skin off their back, just costs you more $$, right?

    3) Dr. C said people feel ovulation and others don’t. I did, but I know many who didn’t! The average girl has no idea when it happens.

    4) Yes, post trigger ovulation should take approx 36 hours but I don’t think it’s an exact science ever! I had my trigger at 12:30 PM and think I felt ovulation around 5 PM the following day. I went in for the IUI at 9 AM the day after that. You are most able to concieve having sex the 24 hours before and 24 hours after ovulation from what I understand. As long as you guys are doing it every night, all should be well!

    All the others are pretty much answered by my above comments. I know this part is hard, but you’ve done ALL YOU CAN. Now you just have to roll with the punches.
    *hugs*

Leave a Reply

