hsg, etc.

August 18, 2008 at 12:46 pm (Uncategorized)

I had my HSG this morning. It was fine–not painful really at all. The speculum is never fun, of course, but the people there were really great. Furthermore, everything looked normal, and my tubes are clear. I am really glad about that, of course. After injecting the normal contrast medium, they injected a denser medium that’s supposed to open the tubes a little more. Hopefully that will make some kind of difference.

We also got the results of the recent semen analysis my husband had done on Friday. We figured we may as well check it out again, since the last one was in January of ’07. Everything was normal and good, except that they haven’t sent the morphology results yet–I guess they take longer. Hopefully those will be fine too.

My spirits are pretty good. Like I said last time, I really believe this will happen eventually for us, I just can’t say when. No one can, of course. I know that IVF is an option, but I am not ready to think we need it yet. I don’t know at what point it will make more sense to do that than to keep doing this, but we’ll cross that bridge, etc.

I feel hopeful. Other than that, there’s not much more to say. Today is cycle day 9, and I go in for my first ultrasound of the cycle on Wednesday. My ovaries have really been feeling it this time.

3 Comments

  1. Angie said,

    Just wanted to let you know that I am keeping my fingers crossed for you. I’m glad everything looked good on the HSG and that it wasn’t painful. Mine was pretty uneventful too. I hope if nothing else, it opens up those tubes nice and wide! It couldn’t hurt, right? Good luck!

  2. Mel said,

    That is awesome your HSG didn’t hurt!! I am so glad it’s over and you have peace in the fact that all your “parts” are working properly.
    Keep that positive attitude! And remember that you odds of pregnancy increase the first 3 months after having your tubes blown out. 😉
    *hugs*

  3. Blue said,

    Hey there. Congrats on getting through the HSG in one piece, I really struggled with mine – sounds like you did an awesome job of staying calm. Just wanted to wish you lots of luck this cycle; I hope those high spirits are sticking around to help you through.

Leave a Reply

