I know what you’re going to say

October 24, 2008 at 2:02 pm (Uncategorized)

You’re going to say I can’t have it both ways.

Today I had several follicles that had started to grow. I don’t even remember how many–he never said, just measured a bunch. Nothing larger than 13 mm. He said we’re doing one more day of one vial each of Bravelle and Menopur, and then on Saturday and Sunday just the one vial of Menopur, and then I’ll see him again Monday. He said I am responding in a “typical” fashion, but my tendency is that a bunch will be stimulated, which is why he’s dialing it back. I asked him how many follicles he would like to have at the time of ovulation, and he said three or four.

It wasn’t until after I left that that started making me really nervous. About getting pregnant. With many babies.

And I’ve calmed waaaay down since then (not that I was hyperventilating or anything, just extra thoughtful…as usual), but I still wanted to start my post this way–is that allowed? But seriously, I’ve (supposedly) ovulated seven times already without one sticking, so releasing three or four eggs at once is obviously highly unlikely to result in three or four babies. But what about two? I know we’ve discussed this before, but I’m still nervous about two. But there’s no point in having a discussion about it–if there are two, there are two.

Otherwise, Dr. M said all my husband’s stuff looked really great, so there’s no reason I shouldn’t get pregnant “within two cycles.” He also said he really believes the problem with the other cycles has been their length. We’ll see if he’s right. Since the follicles had already started to grow today, Day 7, they had me pick up the hCG stuff at the pharmacy today because they think it’s possible I will be triggering on Monday, or shortly thereafter.

WOW. What a difference.

We still don’t know for sure whether it’s the *right* difference, of course. And I do find myself sympathizing with Dr. R’s (the former RE’s) goal of trying to get only one follicle. Then again, if the only way to get only one follicle is to have a too-long cycle, then it’s time to try something new, in my opinion.

I said to Dr. M, “So we’re ruling things out, right?” He said something about the only other thing he could think of would be tubal dysfunction, and if I’d had the presence of mind I would have asked him why my HSG didn’t rule that out (does anyone else know the answer to that?). And then I asked about mucous, and he said, “We’d bypass that. With an insemination. If the mucous is no good, we’ll do an insemination.” They’re going to check my mucous around the time of ovulation. So exciting. I never thought I’d be so happy to have my mucous monitored. Can I just not write the word “mucous” any more? Also, they’re going to check to make sure I ovulated afterward. Hoorah.

Anyway, that’s my update. Also, I picked up the hCG, which is different from the Ovidrel I’m used to. This is Novarel. Any reports? It says on the bottle that it’s supposed to be taken intramuscularly, but I asked and made sure subcutaneously is okay, and they said it is. I’m not very much in the mood to conquer another type of injection at this point.

Hey also, I just wanted to mention…thank you guys so much for your awesome comments. They really are so helpful and comforting. Please don’t stop leaving them!!

1 Comment

  1. patti said,

    Isn’t it amazing how a little bit of action can stimulate a little bit of hope? Sounds GREAT that your follicles are responding already! Yay! I always said the worst part of the 2ww is the fact that you aren’t doing anything. The inaction leads to overthinking and “what if”s and “what’s that twinge” and all kinds of mentally traumatizing stuff. If only there was monitoring or blood work or *something* we could do during those horrible 14 days!

    If it makes you feel better, when I got pregnant I had FIVE ripe follicles. FIVE. I’m pregnant with ONE baby. šŸ™‚

    Oh, and the Wondertwins are doing great. Very busy with their first year of high school, but great considering their mother has turned into a forgetful overly emotional hormonal basketcase. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

