The latest

October 29, 2008 at 10:24 am (Uncategorized)

I struggle to make this sound interesting. I fail.

I had a scan on Monday at which point I had about three follicles in the 13-15 mm range. I was told to take 75 IU of Menopur that night, and 37.5 IU the next night–he figured we were at the tapering off point–and to come in for another scan on Wednesday. Today, those follicles had barely grown, and he said, “Your follicles are very interesting. You have a lot of them, and they look like they have the potential to overstimulate, but they don’t. I thought we were at the point where we could taper off and we’d be ready to trigger today, but we’re not. Your follicles are going only on what we’re feeing them right now.” So now I am doing 112.5 IU tonight and another 75 IU tomorrow. He says we can’t taper off with me. He also says he thinks the problem with the other cycles has been everyone tiptoeing around my follicles for fear of overstimulating them, but that doesn’t happen with me. We don’t need to be quite so gentle, is the conclusion. Also, he checked the mucous, which he said looked great.

I go back in on Friday and hopefully we will trigger then. It’s been an annoying cycle because I’ve had to go into the pharmacy every single time I’ve had a scan, because I never have any leftover–I keep only buying the bare minimum. Hopefully next time (if there is a next time) we can order all of it or most of it in advance.

I’ve said it before and I will say it again: what I really like about this doctor is that he really seems to be thinking about what’s going on with me. He is paying attention and adjusting based on how I respond. I don’t feel like the old doctor was doing that as much.

Hope this works.

Sorry that was so boring.

3 Comments

  1. patti said,

    It is never boring to hear how you’re doing!

    I like this doctor too. Seems he is trying to problem solve and is okay with thinking more “outside the box”, if you’ll pardon the pun!

    😉

  2. Mel said,

    Your follicles are absolute turds! Not cooperating at all. I can only imagine the frustration.
    What’s funny is my RE was worried about hyper stimming me as well and it never happened. My body always managed to do just what it was supposed to (at a ridiculous expense and frustration, of course).
    *hugs*

  3. dana said,

    Your follies and mine are a lot alike, I think. Mine never grow to be more than 13mm. And issue we’ll be working on when we gear up again.

    Anyway, I’m glad you like the new Dr….I think I can sense an ease in your writing, compared to previous posts; perhaps b/c of his direct and proactive approach, I don’t know.

    Hoping you can trigger tomorrow..

Leave a Reply

