Done

November 3, 2008 at 11:32 am (Uncategorized)

We did the IUI this morning, and it was fine. My husband’s counts and all that stuff were good, and two follicles appear to have ruptured–the third looked pretty big and the doctor said it may still release or it may be in the process or it may not at all, but it was too difficult to tell. I am feeling optimistic and so is my husband, and the doctor said this was a good cycle. He is having me come back in on Friday to test my estrogen and progesterone levels, and then I am to take an hCG “booster” shot to stimulate my ovaries to produce more estrogen and progesterone. Since I am taking more hCG on Friday, he said I can’t test until 10 days later because we can’t be sure the hCG from the shot will be out of my system before then.

So that’s that. Oh also, got great news today: as it turns out, this office only charges for three ultrasounds per cycle. I have had six this cycle, including today, but I have already paid for five. My total today went from $915 (it included screening bloodwork my husband and I had to get done in order to get the IUI) to $285 thanks to the credit from the two ultrasounds I’d paid for but shouldn’t have and the three-ultrasound maximum rule. I told the cashier woman that I’d like her to do that for me every time–tell me it’s going to be way more than it actually is, and then tell me it’s $600 less. Anyway, that was satisfying. Maybe it’s a sign.

I just feel so relieved that I ovulated. And that everything seemed to go well.

I hope this does the trick.

P.S. Re: Novarel–this is not Ovidrel. Though it did not hurt going in, when I got home that night I touched my stomach and it felt like I had been punched there, like this really really tender bruise. It is still tender and still has a red blotch on it. It’s not going to kill you or anything, but in case anyone has to do that, be forewarned. They told me at the office that this was all totally normal. At least I know to expect it when I do it again on Friday.

Oh yeah, also, it gave me a wicked headache for a few days.

6 Comments

  1. patti said,

    Oh am I pleased and relieved to hear you ovulated and everything!

    I have every appendage that I can still cross, crossed for you!

    I’m very excited and thinking every positive, sticky, conception based thought that I can. 🙂 Keep the faith!

  2. Mel said,

    Great news! I am glad it all went so well and what a prize for the ultrasound credit!!!! I am jealous!
    Fingers crossed!

  3. dana said,

    Yay for great news! I’m so glad that you ovulated (not once but twice and maybe three times! wahoo!)! Keeping my everythings crossed for you!

  4. andi said,

    Hi there – sounds like you have done really well. FINGERS CROSSED MY DEAR.

  5. lisa said,

    Good Luck…looks like we’re on the same cycle…my IUI was also this morning. Here’s to getting through our 2ww without harming others 🙂 This past paycheck I got reimbursed for part of my past IUI, so it’s really nice when money is going into our accounts, versus the other more frequent way.

  6. sully said,

    Fingers crossed for you!

Leave a Reply

