A good day so far

November 29, 2008 at 1:14 pm (Uncategorized)

I tried to post from my iPhone on Thursday immediately after I accidentally administered to myself a full vial of Bravelle and a full vial of Menopur when I was supposed to administer myself only a full vial of Bravelle and a HALF vial of Menopur. I was kind of tipsy after the Thanksgiving meal and we were in a hotel room and we had even rented a $10 refrigerator in which to store the half vial of Menopur. And without thinking about it, I just gave myself the same dose I had been giving myself for the past six days. So of course I kind of freaked out and called the on-call nurse (thank god they have one) and she was actually kind of nasty to me, but she got a message to the doctor the next morning and by 8:30 am the following day I knew what to do, and everything was fine.

Went in this morning and everything seems fine, am triggering today with probably two follicles, IUI on Monday. I start estrogen and progesterone on Tuesday.

I am feeling good about this, and optimistic. I love my doctor. He thinks about things Dr. R never bothered with. And he said the extra push of Menopur on Thursday night probably got us to where we are today (which was nice of him to say even if it’s not exactly true or it was not exactly necessary). He also said, “This is what it is supposed to look like. You can now consider yourself normal.” In retrospect, I’m not sure what that even means, but I had already asked enough questions for the day. I got his general gist. He’s still unclear on why I didn’t produce progesterone last time even though he is apparently certain I ovulated. He figures we’re correcting for it, but he was at first uncertain as to whether he should give me Lupron to stimulate an LH surge of my own to cause me to ovulate, or just give me hCG again. He decided on hCG since he felt we had proven it worked before with the ultrasound, but this time we are going back to Ovidrel rather than the Novarel we used last time. Just to try something different? I dunno. I’m tired of asking questions. I don’t care about any of this, if it works.

By the way, assuming I do ovulate, this will be a CD 13 ovulation, the shortest yet. I am pleased with this. For once, it doesn’t seem that long ago that we last did this.

P.S. Thanksgiving was fun this year. It was an entertaining change of pace, because we spent it with my husband’s cousin and his wife and their family (and my husband’s mom and brother) instead of with my side of the family, which always has more established and elaborate Thanksgivings, since I just have a bigger family. It was cool. This has felt like a very luxurious long weekend.

P.P.S. I hope all of you had good Thanksgivings, too!

3 Comments

  1. lisa said,

    Good Luck!! I truly hope that Santa gives you a really nice and extra special x-mas present this year 🙂

  2. Mel said,

    I remember accidentally taking a full vial when I was supposed to only take a half on more than one occasion. My RE always teased me that it was “my contribution” to the cycle. It always seemed to help things more along faster, hahaha… And someone once told me the imperfect cycles were always the most perfect. I don’t know if I buy it, but it’s certainly fun to entertain.
    Wishing and thinking of only the best for this one, girl. Thank God for the rapid timing this guy is having on you… shorter is definitely sweeter in this case.
    *hugs*

  3. dana said,

    Thinking of and praying for you today!! Sending you lots of good vibes and hugs!

Leave a Reply

