Chinese medicine

January 17, 2009 at 3:43 pm (Uncategorized)

I had my acupuncture appointment this morning. Forgive me for not wanting to go through every tiny detail–I’ve already gone through it exhaustively twice today, with my husband and then my mom.

The doctor asked me a lot of questions and we talked for a little while, but long story short, she basically said to me, “You don’t need all these treatments. I will get you pregnant naturally.”

Hmm. Other highlights were: she was very pleased by my age, and she was very displeased by the fact that I went on the pill only two years after starting my period (started period very late when I was 15 1/2). She also looked at my tongue and told me not to have alcohol, chocolate or spicy foods. She might as well have said, “Don’t consume anything you enjoy.” Whatever; fine, it’s worth a shot.

She told me I should obviously continue with this treatment cycle and she would treat me throughout and hopefully it would work, but if not, I should stop the treatment and she would get me to get my periods back and I would get pregnant naturally.

I feel very conflicted about this. I was certainly pleased to hear that she was so confident I could get pregnant, and naturally at that. But of course, this disrupts our plans to do IVF if this cycle doesn’t work. And that’s only a bad thing because how the hell do I know if I should trust this woman? Here is what I know about her: she got a woman I know to get regular periods when she had never had regular periods in her life, and then that woman got pregnant. If she is to be believed, she has been doing this for 40 years. She also seems to get a lot of people pregnant: she pulled out a list of her patients and showed me how many months they all took. She said she only gets patients through referrals. And the women who referred me to her think she is great.

But should I trust her this much? Well, on the one hand, there’s not a whole lot to lose. I could just tell my RE that I want to try this for a few months and see if she can get me to get a regular period and, hopefully, pregnant. It’s so much cheaper and so much less invasive than IVF, and though I’m not getting any younger, my age isn’t really a pressing factor at the moment. My husband basically agrees.

What we’ve decided to do, I think, is to simply discuss it with my doctor. He is fantastic and incredibly experienced and I know he has come into contact with this plenty before. And I even asked him if he thought acupuncture would be a good thing, and he said he did, so I basically went to her on his recommendation. I think he is at the top of his game, and I trust him. If he says he thinks there’s no chance in hell this will work for me and that it’s a waste of time, I’ll probably take his word for it and move on to IVF from here. But if he thinks there’s a chance it might work, I think I really might want to try it. And for some reason, I do trust this woman.

By the way, I did have the acupuncture too. I don’t have a whole lot to say about it. It didn’t really hurt and I didn’t really feel any different afterward, but apparently it takes time for that to happen. She also prescribed me some herb pills, which I fretted about a little but have decided to just go with. I took my first dose today. Mostly it’s all just supposed to help with circulation I think. Nothing too crazy.

So that is that. Does anyone have any thoughts about this? Do you think I’m crazy to consider it? Crazy to consider NOT considering it? Tell me, please!!

4 Comments

  1. Pam said,

    I don’t think you’re crazy. You’re 29 (I think) and as you said, age isn’t a factor yet. I would give it a try for 6 months. Who knows, maybe she really do what she claims. How cool would that be.? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Anonymous said,

    I say go for it. WTH do you have to lose? Seriously. You already gave all brilliant reasons to try the pokey, needle route for a few months….and I think you’re on the right track. Give it a go; I’m rootin’ for ya!

    Plus, I can’t wait to read all about it. hehe.

  3. dana said,

    ^^that was me, Dana. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. lisa said,

    I’d say do both…what’s to stop you? I was doing acupuncture for awhile and found it helped with my stress. I wouldn’t stop the IVF train, but think you should continue with acupuncture while all the process for IVF is unfolding.

Leave a Reply

