Wow, hi!

February 14, 2009 at 11:14 pm (Uncategorized)

I have been completely out of commission (blog-wise) since my last post, and I did not see all your lovely comments until today! I have been working a LOT, which is a really good thing, because it’s making me feel much safer about my job and it’s making me feel good about myself. So good. Good on that.

And thank you! Thank you so much for your comments. They mean so much to me, and they really do tell me that you’ll stick with me and not give up on me. And that’s just huge to me.

I have been drinking The Tea for a week! You have no idea what I’m talking about, do you? Did you ever see the Sex and the City where Charlotte goes to the acupuncturist, and she sees some woman she knows (either in the waiting room at the acupuncturist or out and about whom she tells she seeing the acupuncturist) and the woman says, “Are you drinking the tea? You have to drink the tea!” I had forgotten all about that tea part of that episode, but my best friend reminded me this morning when I started telling her about my Chinese medicine adventures.

So this tea…well, I find it weird that I can’t find a thing about it on the internet, but this is what the woman I know who has PCOS drank to bring back her period. I don’t even know what this stuff is called, but now beginning my second week on it and having been given several new bags of it, the concoction appears to be slightly different this week anyway. Basically, when I saw my acupuncturist a week ago, she gave me several paper bags full of what appear to be sticks, leaves, weird orange raisin looking thinks, some pieces of bark and some chunks of white, well, it looks like wood or, best case scenario, like coconut or something. Anyway, I dump this in a pot, soak it in some water, boil the stuff for 40 minutes, strain it out, boil a bunch of water in it again, strain it altogether, and drink that, hot, twice a day for the next couple of days. It tastes pretty nasty, kind of like celery and other vegetation, and it is sweet, sour and bitter all at once. I’ve gotten kind of used to it by now, though, and it’s hard not to like the idea that it’s actually doing something.

Which, by the way, I am trying really, really hard not to expect. I have tried to find SOMETHING on the internet written about this, but I can only really find stuff when I search “acupuncture PCOS” or “chinese medicine PCOS” or “chinese herbs PCOS,” and I almost never find anything about this tea, but I do find that they say acupuncture and chinese medicine can be very effective for PCOS, but is less likely to be effective for a woman who has NO periods at all, rather than just irregular periods. Of course, I fall into the former camp, and doctors haven’t even been able to agree that I *have* PCOS. So who knows? I’m charting my temps and just sort of going along, and a week in it’s not too bad because of course I’m not expecting anything. But another week goes by, and I’ll be starting to hope I see a temperature shift, and if/when I don’t, that might be difficult. But I don’t know, we’ll see. I am trying to enjoy the break from the artificial hormones, and hoping my body takes this opportunity to heal itself, or something.

But the whole thing feels like voodoo to me.

Has anyone else ever heard of any of this before? I would love to hear what others know.

3 Comments

  1. dana said,

    LOL @ the SITC reference. I heart Charlotte; bless her.

    A friend of mine drinks some sort of “fertility” tea….I’ll ask her about it and report back.

    I’m glad you *seem* to be feeling better…being pro-active, in any way, eases the mind, I think.

    Anyway – if I find anything, I’ll let you know. 😉

  2. zz said,

    Hi,

    I’m in the same shoes, no period for 8 months now since I got off BCP and just started on the chinese concotion plus acupuncture 2x/wk and a homeopathic supplement called Tiaojing Cuyun Wan. Nothing yet, although my acne is gone thank god but can you please let me know how it goes for you, I’ve been doing the above for about a month…

  3. Charissa said,

    Okay, I know this is a really old post, but I just stumbled across your blog while trying to find other blogs of women with hypothalamic amenorrhea, which I have and am (hopefully) recovering from. Right now, I’m not even seeing an RE yet because we can’t afford it (no IF insurance coverage). I am cycling after gaining some weight, but very irregularly. I am going to my first acupuncture appointment in about a week, though we also definitely can’t afford for me to start getting regular acupuncture. So I’m curious about the tea. Where do you get it? And did it have any kind of name? I’ll ask my acupuncturist about it, but it would be nice to know more details. Thanks, and I’m so happy for you! Congrats on the new baby (I assume), how amazing!

Leave a Reply

