hi hi hi hi sorry sorry sorry sorry

March 15, 2009 at 8:23 pm (Uncategorized)

I’m here. Everything’s cool. I almost posted last weekend when I had a huge high and then a pretty big low. But then the low got in the way and I didn’t feel like posting. You know how it goes.

What happened was that I had a major temperature spike on Saturday the 7th. And everything had lined up perfectly. I had seen more EWCM over the last couple of days than I had previously in the cycle, and I had temperature drop on Thursday morning, followed by a higher-than-any-temperatures-yet temp on Friday. And we had sex on Friday morning, so the timing was actually perfect. I even bought two pineapples on Friday, one for me to eat over the next five days (I have read and heard from numerous sources that some enzyme in pineapple is supposed to aid in implantation–I’m sure you’ve all read/heard it too), and one for my husband to have all to himself (we both love pineapple and I knew he’d be jealous if I had pineapple and wasn’t sharing with him). The next day, Saturday, was the major temp rise I was looking for. I was absolutely certain I had ovulated. And I happened to be seeing my acupuncturist that day and she rejoiced with me and told me she formulated the tea for me that week to help keep my temperature up and to help keep my endometrial lining good and strong and full. She put her arm around me and I told her I was very happy and she told me she was too and I hugged her. So yes, you could say I bought into this hook, line and sinker.

I know you know what happens next.

Sunday morning, my temperature was as low as ever. I was DEVASTATED. And the worst part was that no one understood. I tried to talk to a friend about it, and she clearly (to me, anyway) not only thought it shouldn’t be that big deal–it’s only ovulation, after all, not like I’d done IVF and gotten a BFN, but she also seemed to think it was silly of me to expect anything from this ridiculous Chinese tea. She didn’t say so, of course. I am probably reading way into her tone. But she did say, “Well, what’s in the tea…that must just be the same hormones you were injecting into yourself before, right?” She probably didn’t mean to, but she made me feel dumb for thinking it could work. She is a western doctor herself, though her area has nothing to do with fertility or OBGYN or anything even remotely related, and she has admitted she knows little about the subject. It made me feel like crap.

Of course, I eventually got over it, and learned to stop expecting shit from this treatment. Also, I realized, when I was able to step back and focus on it, that other stuff probably contributed to my Saturday morning temp spike. One was that I had had a couple of alcoholic drinks on Friday night. I didn’t know at the time, but that can and likely will result in a higher temperature the next morning. Also, I had had two cavities filled on Thursday morning. When that happens, when you get even tiny areas in your mouth cut, you can get minor infections that will cause your body to go into defense mode and which may cause a slight temperature increase. That probably caused the slightly higher-than-expected temp on Friday morning and contributed to the Saturday one. And whatever the reasons, we all have outliers. I don’t know why I got so carried away with thinking this was IT.

And nothing has happened since to make me think I’ve ovulated since. Although, I will say that I felt exhausted several afternoons last week, and especially thirsty, for no apparent reason. Towards the end of the week, I think my boobs started to hurt a little, though it’s really hard to tell. And on Friday I was having these weird cramps. None of this necessarily suggests I ovulated, but now I’m just hoping I get my period. Nothing yet, and I’m not holding my breath. At this moment, I’m just really looking forward to doing IVF. I’m no longer expecting anything from the Chinese medicine, other than a nice healthy break for my body.

Thanks for sticking with me, guys. Your comments and thoughts mean so much to me.

4 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Ugh. I hate when I get brought back down from “Dana’s World…lalalalalla”. It’s such a happier place than reality, at times.

    I’m sorry for the low. Because lows suck. I am glad, however, that you’re looking ahead to IVF. And I’m excited to read about your experience b/c you may not know this but you are def’y educating me…and I generally have more questions/research to do after reading your blog posts. 🙂

    *hugs, dahlin’*

  2. dana said,

    well, shit. i did it again. ^^was me. 😉

  3. Pam said,

    I’m sorry you’ve had to go through the high’s and lows etc….but just one thing….

    When I was first thinking about acupuncture I asked my RE (at the time) about Chinese medicine and she was against it. She was your typical very scientific doctor. She admitted she didn’t know anything about it and couldn’t speak to the subject or give me an opinion. But I got the impression from her that she just didn’t believe. I’ve found since then that many western doctors don’t understand/believe in the powers that Chinese medicine can have. Admittedly we don’t know if doing acupuncture or anything else during fertility treatments really helps. When I changed REs it was totally different. This office has an acupuncturist that comes into their office regularly and treats those who want to go that route. And when I asked if he thought it might help, he said he didn’t but go ahead if I wanted. So, whether or not your friend believes the treatment has any merit (and I’m not bashing your friend), it is really whether or not you believe it does. If you feel that you are benefiting from it, and you feel that you’re improving your chances to conceive when the time comes, then you make your decisions based on that. My thought is if it didn’t help in some way, why do so many of us give acupuncture a try. Just my 2 cents.

    Good luck with everything.

  4. Mel said,

    I am so sorry that this cycle didn’t play out like you had hoped. 😦 Your friend just doesn’t understand… there are so many women out there, like the simple majority of them, that just don’t get it. It sucks.
    IVF? I am a big proponent because I hear so many successes. I hope you’re one of them.
    *hugs*

Leave a Reply

