It has been awhile, hasn’t it?

May 6, 2009 at 2:21 pm (Uncategorized)

Sorry for the hiatus, and thanks to Dana for pulling me out of it. You do sometimes wonder if anyone is out there reading…

It’s partially because there hasn’t been anything to report, really. For awhile both I and my acupuncturist thought I had ovulated on Cycle Day 16, because I had cramps that day and a low temp, followed by some higher temps. But the temps weren’t that high and they dropped after about 5 days or so, but I haven’t gotten my period (and today is Cycle Day 32), and my very low temps pretty much preclude any chance that I am pregnant, so it’s not looking like I ovulated. I did call Dr. M, my western fertility doctor, to ask if he thinks this is all pointless. He simply said, in a written note, as reported by the nurse with whom I was speaking, “Keep doing acupuncture to see if menses become cyclic. If not, come back for IVF.” Of course, this tells me nothing about how long to spend trying to do that, but really all I wanted to know what that this wasn’t a huge waste of precious time. Since he doesn’t think it is, I’ve relaxed a bit, and Dr. Z has let me go onto herbal pills instead of the tea, so this has become really easy.

So I’ve dealt with the disappointment of the fact that even though I did get my period once, I don’t think I’m going to be ovulating any time soon. And I’m using this opportunity of absolutely nothing happening to plan a trip for me and my husband to Hawaii!! It’s looking like it’s going to be early June, but plane ticket prices are being annoying. Anyway, though, this has given me something new to focus on for the time being, which is very very good. After that, I think we’ll move on to IVF. So, I feel like I have lots of good things to look forward to. Life is pretty good.

When I think about IVF, though, I can’t help but be nervous that it won’t work… But I’m ready. Really ready. And really excited to enjoy the time I have before all that starts. Yay!

2 Comments

  1. Mel said,

    Ahhh.. Hawaii sounds so magical. I do so hope you get to take that trip. And enjoy every last moment of it. You are right, savor every moment you can before IVF.

  2. dana said,

    Hehe…I’ve pretty much disappeared, too. Sigh.

    So, it’s looking like IVF, huh? I can’t wait to read about it (if you decide to share). Looking forward sounds really good, sweetie!

    And I’m in totes agreement about a vacation! The Mr and I are taking a trip to Vegas in two weeks – it’ll be short but we need it. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

