Um, you guys…

June 10, 2009 at 7:07 pm (Uncategorized)

This is ridiculous. There’s no clever way to say this. I am…um…well…

pregnant.

For the time being, anyway. As I told you in my last post, I ovulated a couple of weeks ago. Well, when I wrote that I think I was “fairly certain” I had ovulated. Now I’d say I’m positive. But I decided that I would be a fool to worry about it and not drink on vacation, so I went ahead and did so. Not to excess, but as a normal non-pregnant person would do on a vacation. I suspect I ovulated actually more than two weeks ago–more like 2 1/2 weeks. I put off taking this test because I preferred to live with not knowing than having disappointment, but today felt really different (my temp was still up, my boobs started to hurt in a new and different way), and I knew I was going to test today and I basically couldn’t pay any attention at work all day. I finally left work on the early side, came home, and took a test. It came up with a clear, dark line–quickly. I covered my mouth and started crying. I didn’t even know what to do with myself. I wanted to call my husband but I wanted to be really sure first, so I grabbed a leftover digital test I had from a previous cycle and tested with that too: “Pregnant.”

I’m going in for a beta tomorrow morning. I’m kind of floating on a cloud right now. My husband was practically speechless when I called to tell him, then he went off to research what kind of damage I could have done with the drinking I did (and by the way, please, readers, for all of our sakes, make me feel better about this). But we are cautiously happy. I told my parents, my friend A who has helped me through all this (and is currently 14 1/2 weeks pregnant herself), and then I decided to tell my sister-in-law and my brother too. Everyone knows all I have is a positive home pregnancy test, and that anything could happen from here on out. But I wanted them to know and am glad they know.

And that is all. Truly in a daze at this moment. I tried to upload a photo I took of the two positives, but I kind of can’t figure it out and you guys know what they look like. But let me know if you demand proof…

I will say one thing: I am an acupuncture and Chinese medicine convert.

2 Comments

  1. Mel said,

    Amazing! What wonderful news, I am so excited for you. It’s such a surreal feeling to see that positive HPT, right? I cannot wait to hear how the beta goes. You are in my thoughts, hoping everything goes well with this.
    *hugs*
    (ps-don’t sweat the drinking too much… i also did some research on this and the placenta isn’t fully functioning until like 6 weeks, so it’s hard to say what if any damage alcohol can do this early on)

  2. Dr. Brian said,

    Thank you for the article, I will pass this information on to my patients..
    Dr. Hardy

Leave a Reply

