I didn’t travel

June 19, 2009 at 2:16 pm (Uncategorized)

The good news: beta #2 was 25,428. The nurse was actually laughing on the phone when she told me, she couldn’t believe how high it was. She said it was time for me to schedule my first pregnancy ultrasound, where we’d get a better idea of how far along I am “when they do the crown-rump measurement.” I almost died when she said this. Really? There’s a crown and a rump in there? It’s almost impossible to believe.

The bad news: I felt so nauseous last night that I decided not to travel back east for my friend’s baby shower. I am so relieved not to be on a 6-hour flight today, let me tell you. And the friends were all so understanding, though I am certainly bummed to have to miss it.

I’m also really unhappy about the nausea. I know, I know, it’s a good sign. But when I’m feeling it really bad, I feel sort of angry and out of control…and worried. How am I going to get through work every day feeling like this? Today, since I was going to miss work anyway, I just decided to work from home. But it seems to be worst at night. Yesterday, I started feeling genuinely crappy in the afternoon and it got increasingly worse as the night wore on. I hovered over the toilet, but no vomit yet. This morning, I again felt better, and it got better and better and I was feeling actually good until about noon or so, and then I started to feel it again. I’m trying to eat every couple of hours, I’m trying to eat bland foods, I’m trying all the remedies I see discussed on the internet and elsewhere. Last night I tried my new Psi Bands (see previous post re: those), and at first they didn’t seem to work. But I put them on again at 12:45 am when I was lying in bed feeling horrible, and they definitely took the edge off–I slept with them all night. So maybe they’re best at night or something, I don’t know. I’m wearing them now and can’t tell if they’re helping…

Anyway, I want to be clear that I am so, so happy and grateful to be pregnant. Of course I am; you know I am. But I have to admit that it is easy to let that fade into the background when you’re focusing on your stomach. But when I do remember, of course I am happy – especially because the nausea is a good sign. It tells me things are going as they should. If I weren’t feeling like this, I’d probably be worried about that. But still, I can’t believe we have to be so helpless with this. It seems oddly unfair. And seriously, what is the evolutionary purpose of this? Just make us hungry, not nauseous, please.

Sigh. I think I’ll take a little walk now, because it’s finally a beautiful day. I’ll update you guys after my ultrasound on Tuesday.

1 Comment

  1. Mel said,

    Good news! YAY! 🙂 I always loved the CR measurements, loved imaging her tiny head and tiny little bum.
    Don’t feel bad for complaining. Bring pregnant blows, doesn’t matter how hard it was for you to get there. I HATED my first trimester, loathed most every moment of it. Except for the ones where I remembered I was going to be having a baby…. ahhhhhh… good moments. 😉

Leave a Reply

