33 week update

December 22, 2009 at 12:36 pm (Uncategorized)

Hi! I am 33 weeks pregnant today and, pregnancy-wise, things are good. I am very lucky. Every day, all day long, this little boy pokes around at my insides and reminds me of his presence and his existence. We now have a combo dresser/changer, a glider/rocker (which I put together all by myself!), and a crib which I’m waiting for my husband to assemble. We have adorable bedding, a car seat, and are working on getting a car that can actually accommodate it. Things are coming together…sort of.

I have to have another surgery on my ankle. It will be Wednesday, December 30, and it will be to take the hardware (screws and a plate) out of my ankle. It will be much less of a big deal than the last surgery–outpatient, much quicker recovery (because it’s only soft tissue that has to heal this time, not bone), and should make my ankle feel a lot more comfortable. Or so they tell me. I was allowed to start putting weight on my foot last Monday, but it hurts. A lot. I am using my crutches less and less now, but my foot turns purple when I have it down for too long, and it just throbs when I use it for a little while. I limp severely and can’t really put all my weight on it, even temporarily, even just to put my pant leg on my good leg. It sucks. Part of the reason I have to have the surgery right away is that the screws are too long and sticking out into my tendons and really irritating them such that it will be impossible to walk without pain until I get them out. I think I will still have a lot of pain once the hardware is gone, but that will be due to stiffness and soft tissue healing, and not something hard getting in the way. For the surgery, they will do a spinal block on me like they did last time, and apparently the whole thing only takes about 15 minutes. Phew.

I’m thinking it will be a lot better once this hardware is out. I’ll be able to start trying to walk in earnest. I am so so hoping that this ankle is a lot better by the time I have to deliver this baby, and that it won’t make it more likely that I will have to get a c-section (say, because it hurts my ankle too much to push–which sounds silly, but which was my OB’s main concern when she heard that the hardware would be problematic, and which is why she recommended I get the follow-up surgery right away). There is just so much to do before this baby gets here, and I hate having anything making it any harder.

2 Comments

  1. Mel said,

    I am so sorry to hear you are still having so much pain from your accident. I cannot even imagine how hard that is. Pregnancy alone was miserable for me… sheesh, combining that with what you’re going through? Bless your heart! I hope your surgery goes well this week and everything continues smoothly with your pregnancy. And, for what it is worth, I thought my c-section was just easy as pie. If it comes to it for you, don’t stress too much!

    Love all the baby stuff! And the new car! I love albebaby, they have the best prices on several baby items! I got a ton of stuff from them and the free shipping cannot be beaten!

  2. dana said,

    Hoping surgery went well and you are on your way to recovery!!! So excited to see all the goodies that you got for the little one!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

