Sigh

May 19, 2010 at 10:06 pm (Uncategorized)

Thank you for the suggestions and support. I feel a little sheepish, because, predictably, the whole thing blew over within the next 12 hours or so. It turned out that he just felt sort of left out, and the price tag made him feel like it had been a sort of big deal that he wasn’t a part of, and that the final product wasn’t that great. He ultimately said he felt really guilty for his reaction, and that I was right that he would be glad to have the photos. I showed his mom the photos and told her the whole story, and she supported me 100%, said she loved the photos, and agreed that I had done exactly the right thing. And that further convinced my husband that I had done the right thing.

Obviously the incident upset me hugely, since I wrote out a whole post on it. It has so much to do with my own horror at being humiliated and at feeling like I might have made a mistake, particularly an expensive one. It’s an issue I have that’s been a theme throughout my life–I really don’t respond well to someone suggesting I shouldn’t have done something or I did something the wrong way. It’s like I can’t stand the embarrassment. Anyway, I will get better. My husband has issues of his own, but they have less to do with his own self-esteem.

In any event, thank you again. I’ll try to check in again soon.

1 Comment

  1. dana said,

    I hope y’all are doing well!!!

Leave a Reply

